REPORT TO:	ANNUAL COUNCIL
DATE:	20 MAY 2013
AGENDA ITEM:	6
SUBJECT:	POLITICAL BALANCE OF THE COUNCIL AND COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES
LEAD OFFICER:	COUNCIL SOLICITOR AND MONITORING OFFICER
WARDS:	ALL

CORPORATE PRIORITY/POLICY CONTEXT:

The Council is required under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 to keep under review the representation of the different political groups on bodies appointed by the Council. Section 2 of Part 4.A of the Constitution empowers the Council to appoint non-executive Committees at its annual meeting.

FINANCIAL SUMMARY:

There are no financial issues arising from the recommendations in this report.

FORWARD PLAN KEY DECISION REFERENCE NO.: N/A

1. RECOMMENDATIONS

That Council:

- 1.1 Having reviewed the representation of the political groups on the Council, confirms that it has 37 Conservative Group Members and 33 Labour Group Members (as set out in Para 3.1.1); and
- 1.2 Approves the appointment and composition of Committees as set out in Para 3.2.5 and agrees that Part 3 of the Constitution be amended accordingly.

2. SUMMARY

- 2.1 This report details:
 - i) The annual review of the political balance of the Council; and
 - ii) The appointment and composition of Committees for the 2013/14 Municipal Year.

3. REPORT DETAIL

- 3.1 Political Groups
- 3.1.1 In accordance with Regulation 8 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, the under-mentioned

Councillors have given notice to the Chief Executive of their wish to be regarded as members of the political groups as set out below:

Concernative Political Porty	Labour Bolitical Borty
Conservative Political Party Eddy Arram	Labour Political Party Jane Avis
Jeet Bains	George Ayres
Sara Bashford	Kathy Bee
Graham Bass	Carole Bonner
Jan Buttinger	Alison Butler
Richard Chatterjee	Sherwan Chowdhury
Justin Cromie	Pat Clouder
Jason Cummings	Stuart Collins
Mike Fisher	Sean Fitzsimons
David Fitze	Alisa Flemming
Maria Gatland	Timothy Godfrey
Clare George-Hilley	Donna Gray
Lynne Hale	Simon Hall
Tony Harris	Patricia Hay-Justice
Simon Hoar	Karen Jewitt
Steve Hollands	Humayun Kabir
Yvette Hopley	Bernadette Khan
Adam Kellett	Shafi Khan
Terry Lenton	Matthew Kyeremeh
Janet Marshall	Wayne Lawlor
Margaret Mead	Toni Letts
Dudley Mead	Maggie Mansell
Vidhi Mohan	Tony Newman
Michael Neal	Raj Rajendran
Steve O'Connell	Gerry Ryan
David Osland	Pat Ryan
Ian Parker	Paul Scott
Tony Pearson Jason Perry	Mike Selva
1	Manju Shahul-Hameed
Helen Pollard	Paul Smith
Tim Pollard	Mark Watson
Badsha Quadir	John Wentworth
Avril Slipper	Louisa Woodley 33/70
Donald Speakman	
Phil Thomas Susan Winborn	
Chris Wright 37/70	

- 3.2 <u>Annual Review of the Political Balance of the Council and Appointment and Composition of Committees</u>
- 3.2.1 There have been no changes to political party membership since the previous review of political balance in May 2010 and so the political balance of the Council is:

	Number of	Members	Political C	omposition %	
Conserva	tive Group	3	37	52.9	
Labou	Labour Group		33	47.1	
	7	0		100	

- 3.2.2 Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 (Duty to Allocate Seats to Political Groups) sets out the requirements as to political proportionality on Council bodies and requires the Council, in allocating seats on committees and sub-committees of the Council to political groups, to give effect, so far as practicable, to the following rules:
 - (i) that not all seats on the committee/sub-committee are allocated to the same political group;
 - (ii) that the political group having a majority of seats on the Council should have a majority on each committee and sub-committee;
 - (iii) that, subject to (i) and (ii) above, the number of seats on the Council's committees and sub-committees allocated to each political group, bears the same proportion to the total number of such committee/sub-committee seats as the number of members of that group bears to the membership of the full Council, and
 - (iv) that, subject to (i) to (iii) above, seats will be allocated on each committee and sub-committee in the same ratio as exists on the full Council.
- 3.2.3 The Council's overriding duty to comply with (i) and (ii) above takes precedence over achieving a mathematically balanced distribution of Committee seats as described in (iii) and (iv).

	Political Composition %		2012/13 % of Committee Seats		Proposed 2013/14 % of Committee Seats*		
Conserva	tive Group	52.	.9		58		58
Laboui	r Group	47	.1		42		42
	1	00	100		100		

^{*4} seats are allocated to statutory Education Voting Co-Optees on Scrutiny, the percentage allocation excludes these four voting seats

3.2.4 In accordance with Article 4.01(f) of the Constitution, the Council is required to decide on the composition of Committees and make appointments to them. It is therefore proposed that Council appoint the following Committees and agree their composition:

Committee	Total Seats	Majority Seats	Minority Seats
Audit Advisory Committee [#]	7	4	3
Corporate Services Committee	11	6	5
Corporate Services Appointments Sub-Committee	7	4	3
Corporate Services Mayoralty & Honorary Freeman Selection Sub-Committee	5	3	2
Corporate Services Urgency Sub-Committee	3	2	1
Licensing Committee	11	6	5
Pension Committee	7	4	3
Planning Committee	11	6	5
Scrutiny and Strategic Overview Committee	7	4	3
Scrutiny Sub - Health, Social Care & Housing	7	4	3
Scrutiny Sub – Children and Young People	17	9	4
Strategic Planning Committee	11	6	5
Total	104	58	42

[#] The Audit Advisory Committee also appoints an Independent, non-voting co-opted Member to serve on that Committee.

- 3.2.5 Should the Council be minded to agree the allocation and composition of Committees as detailed above, Members are asked to agree a number of small consequential amendments to Part 3 of the Constitution, which details the size of each Committee.
- 3.2.6 The Ethics Committee is separately constituted. Following the abolition of the Standards Committee by the Localism Act 2011 and the political balance requirements of the 1989 Act do not apply. However the Constitution provides that both political groups must be represented. The Ethics Committee is constituted of five Councillors and three Non Elected Independent persons.
- 3.2.7 Sub-Committees of the Licensing Committee are separately constituted under the Licensing Act 2003. There is no statutory requirement for political balance or for it to be included in the Council's political balance calculations, but it is the practice of the authority to ensure that, as far as reasonably practicable, such Sub-Committees are constituted in accordance with the Council's scheme of proportionality.
- 3.2.8 The Health & Well-Being Board is separately constituted under the Health and Social Care Act 2012. Regulations made under the Health and Social Act 2012 provide that Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 (Duty to Allocate Seats to Political Groups) need not apply to the composition of this Board.

4. LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 The recommendations contained within this report are compliant with the Council's duties under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, the Local Government Act 2000, the Licensing Act 2003 and the Council's Constitution.

CONTACT OFFICER: Solomon Agutu, Head of Democratic Services and Statutory Scrutiny Officer, 020 8726 6000 x62920

BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS: None.

This page intentionally left blank