CROYDON COUNCIL

MINUTES

ANNUAL MEETING OF THE COUNCIL HELD ON Tuesday 3 June at 6.30pm in the Council Chamber, Town Hall.

THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR YVETTE HOPLEY - PRESIDING

Councillors Ali, Audsley, Avis, Bains, Bashford, Bee, Benn, Bennett, Bird, Bonner Brew, Butler, Buttinger, Canning, Chatterjee, Chowdhury, Clancy, Clouder, Collins, Creatura, Cummings, Fisher, Fitzsimons, Flemming, Gatland, Godfrey, Hale, Hall, Hay-Justice, Henson, Hollands, Jewitt, Kabir, Khan B, Khan S King, Kyeremeh, Lawlor, Letts, Lewis, Mann, Mansell, Mead D, Mead M, Mohan Neal, Newman, O'Connell, Pelling, Perry, Pollard H, Pollard T, Prince, Quadir Rendle, Ryan P, Scott, Selva, Shahul-Hameed, Speakman, Stranack Thomas, Thompson, Watson, Wentworth, Winborn, Woodley, Wright

Absent: Councillors Gerry Ryan.

1. **ELECTION OF THE MAYOR** (agenda item 1)

The motion to elect Councillor Manju Shahul-Hameed as Mayor for the Municipal Year 2014/15 was moved by Councillor Tony Newman and seconded by Councillor Mike Fisher.

The motion was put to the vote and

RESOLVED unanimously that Councillor Manju Shahul-Hameed be elected Mayor for the Council Year 2014/2015.

2. DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

Councillor Manju Shahul-Hameed made the Declaration of Acceptance of the Office of Mayor, as required by Section 83 of the Local Government Act 1972, and assumed the Chair.

THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR MANJU SHAHUL-HAMEED - PRESIDING

The Mayor in making her acceptance speech spoke of the great honour and privilege it was to be elected to the office of the Mayor of Croydon and welcomed members of the community, friends and family who were in the public gallery.

3. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR

The Mayor reported that she had appointed Councillor Patricia Hay-Justice as the Deputy Mayor for 2014/15.

(NOTE: Following the meeting, Councillor Patricia Hay-Justice made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Deputy Mayor, as required by Section 83 of the Local Government Act 1972).

4. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE (agenda item 2)

Apologies were received from Councillor Gerry Ryan.

5. DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS (agenda item 3)

All Members of the Council confirmed that their interests as listed in their Declaration of Interests Forms were accurate and up-to-date.

6. MINUTES (agenda item 4)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the Council Meeting held on 24 March 2014 be signed as a correct record.

7. **URGENT BUSINESS** (agenda item 5)

The Chief Executive read out the result of the Local Elections held on Thursday 22nd May 2014. (attached as an appendix to these minutes.)

8. LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND STATUTORY DEPUTY LEADER (agenda item 6)

In accordance with Article 4.01€ and Article 7.03 of the Constitution, the Council is required to appoint a Member of the Council as Leader of the Council for a period of four years.

Councillor Alison Butler nominated and Councillor Stuart Collins seconded that Councillor Tony Newman be appointed at Leader. This was agreed by Council Councillor Tony Newman announced that he had appointed Councillor Alison Butler as Statutory Deputy Leader for a period of four years.

9. POLITICAL BALANCE OF THE COUNCIL AND COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES (agenda item 7)

The Council received a report from the Director of Democratic and Legal Services and **RESOLVED**:

- 1.1 To note the outcome of the Local Elections held on 22 May 2014;
- 1.2 Agree the allocation of seats on those Council Committees in accordance with the proportionality rules as set out in the report; and
- 1.3 Approve the appointment and composition of Committees as set out in the report

10. APPOINTMENTS (agenda item 8)

The Council received a report from the Director of Democratic and Legal Services and **RESOLVED**:

- To agree (or receive for information as applicable) the following appointments where the number of nominations is equal to the number of available positions:
 - 1.1 To agree the appointments to Committees of the Council (Blue Schedule); and
 - 1.2 To agree the appointments to all other Panels, Working Groups and Outside Bodies (Pink Schedule), but to note that Councillor Patricia Hay- Justice name be removed from the nomination to the Whitgift Foundation, and agree that during the remainder of the Council year any vacancies be filled by the decision of the relevant Committee or by the Council Solicitor and Monitoring Officer on the recommendation of the appropriate Group Secretary in accordance with the Council's Constitution

And in consequence.

- 1.3 To agree the delegation in the appendix to the report authorising the Director of Democratic and Legal Services to make the necessary amendments to the Constitution.
- To receive for information the appointments of Cabinet Members, Cabinet Committees and Deputy Cabinet Members (Blue Schedule);
 - 2.1 To receive for information the appointments of Leader of the Opposition and Shadow Cabinet (Blue Schedule);
 - 2.2 To receive for information the appointments of political party group officers (Blue Schedule);
 - 2.3 To receive for information the appointments to Joint Committees (Blue Schedule);
 - 2.4 To receive for information the appointments to London Councils Committees and Panels and Local Government Association bodies (Blue Schedule);
 - 2.5 To receive for information the appointment of Councillors to the Health & Wellbeing Board by the Leader of the Council.

11. TERMINATION OF MEETING

The meeting terminated at 19.30 and was to be followed by a Civic reception.

Full copies of the Council agenda, reports and appendices are available in the Members Library and on the Council website at www.croydon.gov.uk/democracy/dande/minutes/committees

	First Name	Surname	Councillor Ward Name
01	Sean	Fitzsimons	Addiscombe
02	Mark	Watson	Addiscombe
03	Patricia	Hay-Justice	Addiscombe
04	Madelaine	Henson	Ashburton
05	Stephen	Mann	Ashburton
06	Andrew	Rendle	Ashburton
07	James	Audsley	Bensham Manor
80	Alison	Butler	Bensham Manor
09	Humayun	Kabir	Bensham Manor
10	Stuart	Collins	Broad Green
11	Manju	Shahul-Hameed	Broad Green
12	Mike	Selva	Broad Green
13	James	Thompson	Coulsdon East
14	Margaret	Bird	Coulsdon East
15	Chris	Wright	Coulsdon East
16	Jeet	Bains	Coulsdon West
17	Luke	Clancy	Coulsdon West
18	Mario	Creatura	Coulsdon West
19	Maria	Gatland	Croham
20	Michael	Neal	Croham
21	Jason	Perry	Croham
22	Susan	Winborn	Fairfield
23	Helen	Pollard	Fairfield
24	Vidhi	Mohan	Fairfield
25	Carole	Bonner	Fieldway
26	Simon	Hall	Fieldway
27	Margaret	Mead	Heathfield
28	Andrew	Stranack	Heathfield
29	Jason	Cummings	Heathfield
30	Jan	Buttinger	Kenley
31	Steve	Hollands	Kenley
32	Steve	O'Connell	Kenley
33	Oliver	Lewis	New Addington
34	Louisa	Woodley	New Addington
35	Sherwan	Chowdhury	Norbury
36	Maggie	Mansell	Norbury
37	Shafi	Khan	Norbury
38	Christopher	Brew	Purley
39	Badsha	Quadir	Purley
40	Donald	Speakman	Purley
41	Lynne	Hale	Sanderstead
42	Tim	Pollard	Sanderstead
43	Yvette	Hopley	Sanderstead
44 45	Toni	Letts	Selhurst
45 46	Timothy Gerry	Godfrey Ryan	Selhurst Selhurst
47	Dudley	Mead	Selsdon and Ballards
48	Sara	Bashford	Selsdon and Ballards
49	Phil	Thomas	Selsdon and Ballards
50	Richard	Chatterjee	Shirley
51	Mike	Fisher	Shirley
52	Susan	Bennett	Shirley
		 -	- ··· - /

53	Jane	Avis	South Norwood
54	Kathy	Bee	South Norwood
55	Wayne	Lawlor	South Norwood
56	Pat	Clouder	Thornton Heath
57	Matthew	Kyeremeh	Thornton Heath
58	Karen	Jewitt	Thornton Heath
59	Alisa	Flemming	Upper Norwood
60	John	Wentworth	Upper Norwood
61	Pat	Ryan	Upper Norwood
62	Robert	Canning	Waddon
63	Andrew	Pelling	Waddon
64	Joy	Prince	Waddon
65	Emily	Benn	West Thornton
66	Bernadette	Khan	West Thornton
67	Stuart	King	West Thornton
68	Hamida	Ali	Woodside
69	Tony	Newman	Woodside
70	Paul	Scott	Woodside