REPORT TO:	ANNUAL COUNCIL
DATE:	21 MAY 2015
AGENDA ITEM:	9
SUBJECT:	POLITICAL BALANCE OF THE COUNCIL AND COMPOSITION OF COMMITTEES
LEAD OFFICER:	BOROUGH SOLICITOR AND MONITORING OFFICER
WARDS:	ALL

# **CORPORATE PRIORITY/POLICY CONTEXT:**

The Council is required under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 to keep under review the representation of the different political groups on bodies appointed by the Council. Section 2 of Part 4.A of the Constitution empowers the Council to appoint non-executive Committees at its annual meeting.

# **FINANCIAL SUMMARY:**

There are no financial issues arising from the recommendations in this report.

#### FORWARD PLAN KEY DECISION REFERENCE NO.: N/A

# 1. RECOMMENDATIONS

# That Council:

- 1.1 Having reviewed the representation of the political groups on the Council, confirms that it has 40 Labour Group Members and 30 Conservative Group Members (as set out in Para 3.1.1); and
- 1.2 Approves the appointment and composition of Committees as set out in paragraph 3.2.3.

#### 2. INTRODUCTION

- 2.1 The Council is required under Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, to keep under review the representation of the different political groups on bodies appointed by the Council.
- 2.2 This report details:
  - i) The annual review of the political balance of the Council; and
  - ii) The appointment and composition of Committees for the 2015/16 Municipal Year.

#### 3. REPORT DETAIL

# 3.1 Political Groups

3.1.1 In accordance with Regulation 8 of the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, the under-mentioned Councillors have given notice to the Chief Executive of their wish to be regarded as members of the political groups as set out below:

# Labour Political Party Conservative Political Party

Hamida Ali
Jamie Audsley
Jane Avis
Kathy Bee
Emily Benn
Carole Bonner
Alison Butler
Robert Canning
Sherwan Chowdhury
Pat Clouder
Stuart Collins

Pat Clouder Stuart Collins Sean Fitzsimons Alisa Flemming Timothy Godfrey Simon Hall

Patricia Hay-Justice Maddie Henson Karen Jewitt Humayun Kabir Bernadette Khan Shafi Khan

Stuart King Matthew Kyeremeh Wayne Lawlor

Toni Letts

Oliver Lewis Stephen Mann Maggie Mansell

Tony Newman Andrew Pelling

Joy Prince

Andrew Rendle

Pat Ryan

Paul Scott

Mike Selva

Manju Shahul-Hameed Mark Watson Jeet Bains
Sara Bashford
Sue Bennett
Margaret Bird
Simon Brew
Janice Buttinger
Richard Chatterjee
Luke Clancy
Mario Creatura
Jason Cummings
Michael Fisher
Maria Gatland
Lynne Hale
Steven Hollands

Dudley Mead
Margaret Mead
Vidhi Mohan
Michael Neal
Stephen O'Connell
Jason Perry
Helen Pollard
Timothy Pollard
Badsha Quadir
Donald Speakman
Andy Stranack
Philip Thomas
James Thompson

Susan Winborn

Christopher Wright

Yvette Hopley

John Wentworth David Wood Louisa Woodley

# 3.2 Proportionality

- 3.2.1 Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 (Duty to Allocate Seats to Political Groups) sets out the requirements as to political proportionality on Council bodies and requires the Council, in allocating seats on committees and sub-committees of the Council to political groups, to give effect, so far as practicable, to the following rules:
  - (i) that not all seats on the committee/sub-committee are allocated to the same political group;
  - (ii) that the political group having a majority of seats on the Council should have a majority on each committee and sub-committee;
  - (iii) that, subject to (i) and (ii) above, the number of seats on the Council's committees and sub-committees allocated to each political group, bears the same proportion to the total number of such committee/sub-committee seats as the number of members of that group bears to the membership of the full Council, and
  - (iv) that, subject to (i) to (iii) above, seats will be allocated on each committee and sub-committee in the same ratio as exists on the full Council.
- 3.2.2 The Council's overriding duty to comply with (i) and (ii) above takes precedence over achieving a mathematically balanced distribution of Committee seats as described in (iii) and (iv).

Political Composition %	Proposed 2015/16 % of voting Committee Seats*	
Labour Group	57.1	62.1
Conservative Group	42.9	37.9
100	100	

The proposed percentage allocation only includes those seats to which elected Members can be appointed.

3.2.3 In accordance with Article 4.01(f) of the Constitution, the Council is required to decide on the composition of Committees and make appointments to them. It is therefore proposed that Council appoint the following Committees and agree their composition:

	Majority seats	Minority seats	co- optees	Total seats¹
Appointment Committee	4	2	2	8

Ethics Committee	4	2	2	8
General Purposes & Audit				
Committee	6	4	2	12
Mayoralty & Honorary Freeman Selection Sub-Committee	3	2	0	5
General Purposes & Audit	•	4	•	•
Committee: Urgency Sub- Committee	2	1	0	3
Licensing Committee	7	5	0	12
Licensing Sub-Committee	2	1	0	3
Pensions Committee	5	3	3	11
Planning Committee	6	4	0	10
Planning Sub-Committee	3	2	0	5
Scrutiny and Overview Committee	4	2	1	7
Children and Young People Scrutiny Sub-Committee	5	3	5	13
Health, Social Care & Housing Scrutiny Sub-Committee	4	2	1	7
Streets & Environment Scrutiny Sub-Committee	4	3	0	7
	59	36	16	111

- 3.2.4 The Ethics Committee is separately constituted. The Standards Board for England was abolished by the Localism Act 2011 and the political balance requirements of the 1989 Act do not apply to the Ethics Committee. However the Constitution provides that all political groups must be represented. The Ethics Committee is constituted of six Councillors and two non-elected Independent persons.
- 3.2.5 Under the Licensing Act 2003, Sub-Committees of the Licensing Committee are constituted separately. There is no statutory requirement for political balance or for it to be included in the Council's political balance calculations, but it is the practice of the authority to ensure that, as far as reasonably practicable, such Sub-Committees are constituted in accordance with the Council's scheme of proportionality.
- 3.2.6 The Health & Well-Being Board is separately constituted under the Health and Social Care Act 2012. Regulations made under the Health and Social Act 2012 provide that Section 15 of the Local Government

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Co-opted members are non-voting except for four of the five co-optees on the Children & Young People Scrutiny Sub-Committee in respect of issues relating to the Council as a Local Education Authority; and the two Independent Persons, on the Appointment Committee, for specified purposes, as detailed in paragraph 3.24 of the Annual Review of the Constitution & Related Matters

and Housing Act 1989 (Duty to Allocate Seats to Political Groups) need not apply to the composition of this Board.

# 4. LEGAL IMPLICATIONS

4.1 The recommendations contained within this report are compliant with the Council's duties under the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990, the Local Government Act 2000, the Licensing Act 2003, the Health and Social Care Act 2012, the Local Authorities (Standing Orders) (England) (Amendment) Regulations 2015, and the Council's Constitution.

**CONTACT OFFICER:** Solomon Agutu, Head of Democratic Services and Statutory Scrutiny Officer, 020 8726 6000 x62920

**BACKGROUND DOCUMENTS**: None.