Agenda and minutes

General Purposes & Audit Committee - Mayoralty & Honorary Freedom Selection Sub-Committee - Tuesday, 6th November, 2018 6.30 pm

Venue: F5, Town Hall, Katharine Street, Croydon CR0 1NX. View directions

Contact: Annette Wiles 020 8726 6000 x64877  Email:

No. Item


Apologies for absence


Apologies for absence were received from Cllr Tim Pollard with Cllr Jason Cummings substituting.


Disclosures of interest

In accordance with the Council's Code of Conduct and the statutory provisions of the Localism Act, Members and co-opted Members of the Council are reminded that it is a requirement to register disclosable pecuniary interests (DPIs) and gifts and hospitality in excess of £50. In addition, Members and co-opted Members are reminded that unless their disclosable pecuniary interest is registered on the register of interests or is the subject of a pending notification to the Monitoring Officer, they are required to disclose those disclosable pecuniary interests at the meeting. This should be done by completing the Disclosure of Interest form and handing it to the Business Manager at the start of the meeting. The Chairman will then invite Members to make their disclosure orally at the commencement of Agenda item 3. Completed disclosure forms will be provided to the Monitoring Officer for inclusion on the Register of Members' Interests.


There were no disclosures of pecuniary interest.


Urgent Business (if any)

To receive notice from the Chair of any business not on the Agenda which should, in the opinion of the Chair, by reason of special circumstances, be considered as a matter of urgency.


There was no urgent business.


Grant of Freedom of the Borough pdf icon PDF 80 KB

To consider a motion for nomination for Freedom of the Borough.


RESOLVED: The Committee resolved to approve the recommendation as set out in the report and to recommend to Special Council to grant Freedom of the Borough to Ms Donna Fraser and Mr Roy Hodgson.


Civic Awards (Part A) pdf icon PDF 58 KB

To consider recommendations to grant the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman to former Councillors.


This item was considered in Part B of the agenda. Please see below.


Exclusion of the Press and Public

The following motion is to be moved and seconded as the "camera resolution" where it is proposed to move into part B of a meeting:


That, under Section 100A(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972, the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it involves the likely disclosure of exempt information falling within those paragraphs indicated in Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, as amended.


Civic Awards (Part B)

To consider recommendations to grant the title of Honorary Alderman or Alderwoman to former Councillors.



RESOLVED: The Committee resolved to recommend to Special Council to grant the title of Alderman and Alderwomen as recommended in the report to former Councillors Sara Bashford, Carole Bonner, Mike Fisher, Timothy Godfrey, Dudley Mead, Margaret Mead, Mike Selva, Wayne Trakas-Lawlor, Mark Watson, John Wentworth and Chris Wright.